Sociology at Western

The Social Sciences Division of Western Washington College of Education was created in 1951. Its Chairman was Ed Arntzen, the man for whom the current social sciences building is named.

In 1951 Arntzen hired Herbert C. Taylor (Ph.D., Chicago) who, in January of 1961, became Chairman of the Sociology/Anthropology Department of Western Washington State College. It was subsequently chaired by Angelo Anastasio (1965/6), Donald Call (1966/7-71/2), and Garland Grabert (1972/3-73/4).

The combined department was next chaired by Edward Stephan who became Chairman of the Sociology Department by action of the Board of Trustees of Western Washington University at 2:40 pm on June 3, 1976. Subsequent Chairs of Sociology are indicated in this chart.

from T.S. Eliot's The Hollow Men

This is the way the world ends
This is the way the world ends
This is the way the world ends
Not with a bang but a whimper.