Chronology of Russia

   862-879   Rurik, (Hrorekr)                                  Grand Princes of Kiev
                semilegendary ruler of Novgorod
   879-913   Oleg (Helgi), first ruler of Kiev
   913-945   Igor (Ingvar)
   945-964   Olga (Helga), widow of Igor
   945-972   Sviatoslav I
   973-980   Yaropolk I
   980-1015  Vladimir (the Saint), brother of Yaropolk, baptized 989
  1015-1019  Sviatopolk I
  1019-1054  Yaroslav I (the Wise), brother of Sviatopolk
  1054-1073  Izyaslav I, son of Yaroslav
  1073-1076  Sviatoslav II, son of Yaroslav
  1077-1078  Yziaslav I (again), son of Yaroslav
  1078-1093  Vsevolod, son of Yaroslav
  1093-1113  Svyatopolk II, son of Izyaslav I
  1113-1125  Vladimir II Monomakh, son of Vsevolod I
  1125-1139  Mstislav I
  1132-1139  Yaropolk II, younger brothers of Mstislavav I
  1139-1146  Vyacheslav, younger brothers of Mstislavav I
  1146-1154  Izyaslav II, son of Mstislav I
  1154-1167  Rostislav , son of Mstislav I
  1149-1157  Yuri Dolgoruky, younger brother of Mstislav I (founder of Moscow 1156)
  1157-1174  Andrei Bogolyubsky titular grand prince of Kiev, ruled from Vladimir
  1176-1212  Vsevolod III (Big Nest). Son of Yury Dolgoruky, ruled at Vladimir-Suzdal
  1212-1238  Yuri II                                          Mongol-Tartar Yoke, 1240-1480
  1238-1246  Yaroslav II, brother of Yuri II
  1247-1248  Sviatoslav III, brother of Yuri II
  1249-1252  Andrei II, son of Yaroslav II; prince of Vladimir
  1252-1263  Alexander Nevsky, son of Yaroslav II
                prince of Novgorod, subsequently Vladimir
  1263-1271  Yaroslav III, son of Yaroslav; prince Of Tver
  1263-1303  Daniil, youngest son of Alexander Nevsky.        Grand Princes of Moscow
                First prince of Moscow and of Pereyaslav.
  1303-1325  Yury III, grand prince of Moscow
  1325-1341  Ivan I Money-Bags (Kalita). Brother of Yuri III
                "Grand prince of Vladimir and All Russia". Resident in Moscow
  1341-1353  Simeon (the Proud)
  1353-1359  Ivan II (the Meek), brother of Simeon
  1359-1389  Dmitrii Ivanovich
  1389-1425  Vasily I
  1425-1461  Vasiliy II (the Dark)
  1462-1505  Ivan III (the Great)
  1505-1533  Vasiliy III
  1533-1538  Helena Blinski, widow of Vasiliy II. Mother of Ivan IV
  1533-1584  Ivan IV Vasilievich (the Terrible)              Tsar, 1547
  1584-1598  Fyodor I. Last of Ryurikid dynasty
  1598-1605  Boris Godunov "Lord Protector"                  Time of Troubles
  1605       Fyodor II, son of Boris Godunov
  1605-1606  False Dmitriy I
  1606-1610  Vasiliy IV
  1610-1613  Wladyslav, son of king of Poland (not crowned)
  1613-1645  Mihail Fedorovich Romanov, elected Tsar         Romanov dynasty
  1645-1676  Alexis (Aleksey Mikhaylovich)
  1676-1682  Theodore III (Feodor Alexeevich)
  1682-1689  (Sophia, regent)
  1689-1696  Ivan V (Alexeevich) Senior co-tsar with Peter I
  1689-1696  (Natalya Naryshkina). Aleksye's second wife and widow
  1682-1725  Peter I (the Great, (Alexeevich)).             Emperor, 1721
  1725-1727  Catherine I. Widow of Peter I
  1727-1730  Peter II (Alexeevich)
  1730-1740  Anna (lvanovna)
  1740-1741  Anna Leopoldovna. Niece of Anna; mother of Ivan VI
  1741-1762  Elizabeth (Elizaveta Petrovna)
  1762       Peter III, Elizabeth's nephew, killed after revolt led by Catherine II
  1762-1796  Catherine II (the Great). Widow of Peter III
  1796-1801  Paul I, son of Peter III (?) and Catherine II, murdered
  1801-1825  Alexander I (Pavlovich), may have faked death and entered monastery
  1825-1855  Nicholas I (Pavlovich), brother of Alexander I
  1855-1881  Alexander II (Nikolaevich, Tsar Emancipator), assassinated by bomb
  1881-1894  Alexander III (Alexandrovich, Tsar Peacemaker)
  1894-1917  Nicholas II (Alexandrovich) 
                Constitutional monarch from 1906, abdicated 1917
                murdered with wife and five children by Bolsheviks in 1918
  1917 (Feb-July) Prince Georgiy Lvov, prime minister of provisional government
  1917 (July-Oct) Alexander Kerensky, prime minister of provisional government
  1917-1924  Lenin (Vladimirs Ilyich Ulyanov), chairman of the council 
                of people's commissars
  1924-1953  Joseph Stalin (Iosif Visarionovich Zhugashvili).
                Secretary-general of the central committee of the
                Communist Party from 1922. 
                Effective sole power from 1928
                from 1940 official head of government
  1953-1955  Georgiy Malenkov. 
                Unofficial head of collective leadership after Stalin
  1955-1964  Nikita Khrushchev. First secretary of the central committee
  1955-1958  Nikolai Bulganin, official head of state
  1964-1982  Leonid Brezhnev. First secretary of CPSU
  1982-1984  Yury Andropov. First secretary of CPSU
  1984-1985  Konstantin Chernenko. First secretary of CPSU
  1985-1991  Mikhail Gorbachov. First secretary of CPSU
  1991-2000  Boris Yeltsin elected President of Russia     Soviet Union ceases
  2000-      Vladimir Putin. second elected President of Russia

Royal Genealogies